Pho in DC

What is Pho?

Photo Credit: Wikimedia Commons

It is a popular noddle dish which consists of different kinds of meats with mint leaves, onions, and bean sprouts in Vietnam. To tell you a brief history how to bring pho to America, Vietnamese-Americans immigrated to America in search for the better life that they left behind the traumatic experiences with the Vietnam War and they brought their favorite dish, pho to America.

How did I encounter my first taste of pho?

My family and I immigrated to Southern California when I was young. Although Southern California is overrun by various immigrants, I had never tasted the pho due to the lack of knowledge from some Deaf Vietnamese people in my hometown. I mingled with some Deaf Vietnamese people in my high school but they never introduced me to the pho. One day, it changed my life when I first ate pho and it was my father who had introduced me to when he brought the take-out pho from the Vietnamese restaurant to me and my mother at my home. The rest is history. My family occasionally went to some Vietnamese restaurant that served pho. I sometimes begged my dad to bring it to my work when the winter was coming.

Pho in DC Metro Area

Before I was coming to DC for school, I dread knowing that the fact there are lack of Asian dishes in DC metro area even though Asian restaurants in Chinatown and the best of Asian dishes exist outside the DC area. I had no idea even slight that there is a restaurant serving pho in Chinatown until my friend told me that there was a Vietnamese restaurant serving pho. I was thrilled! It was during the Homecoming weekend. The Homecoming weekend was the opportunity for me to go out with my friends and getting to know them and the need to take a break from school. I was glad that I made my decision to hang out with my friends down in Chinatown. Anyways, we went to the DC Pho that was located across the Chinatown Metro Station. As I entered inside the building, the first thing that caught my eyes was the narrow hallway and the upstairs that was for customers and patrons eat on the second floor. Yeah, compared to the scarce space that was prevalent in DC restaurants, the space in Vietnamese restaurants in California is visibly big that gives enough for many customers with their families to eat. Back to the DC topic, we went up to the second floor and got the menu for ordering our foods. I frequently ordered my favorite pho dish with the beef brisket. I decided to order something new and so it was the pho dish with meatballs.

Photo Credit: Doug Yuan. http://hungrytravels.com/2012/05/13/pho-dc-confounded-by-beef-meatballs/

That’s the one I ordered.

My Opinion

It was okay because the meatballs are chewy, yet the noodles were the best. I prefer the beef brisket one which is the best. So, I enjoyed the pho dinner and I thought that was perfect because I know that the winter would be coming. I need to plan in advance that I need to frequent down in Chinatown so I would satisfy my tempting desires for Asian dishes. Even better, the best thing that would happen is that I can fly home to California in Dec and catch up with various dishes which I miss the most!

3 thoughts on “Pho in DC

    1. I have tried pho several times and almost always the food has been very tasty. I’m so glad that you wrote about it in your blog and that you shared some photos too.

      It’s interesting that Vietnamese people brought the idea of pho food to the United States. I liked reading your history about it.

      Have you been back to the restaurant again? Do you have several favorite restaurants in your hometown that you go to often?

      Do you have any other types of Vietnamese food that I should try?

      Thanks for sharing this information! I look forward to your next blog post!

      Like

  1. Wow! Looking is good soup. I feel it is good smell. I am hungry. I will try to go and get someday. Thank you for informing us.

    Like

Leave a comment